Home » relationship advice for singles » Equal representation for NDC, NPP in proposed Appointments; Business committees

Equal representation for NDC, NPP in proposed Appointments; Business committees

by Isaac Mintah

There is expected to be equal representation for the NDC and NPP on the Appointments and Business Committees of Parliament, according to proposals from Parliament’s Selection Committee.

It has put forth 25 persons to constitute the Appointments Committee subject to debate on the Floor of Parliament.

A 26th member will by default be the Joe Osei-Owusu, whose position as First Deputy Speaker means he will chair the committee.

The membership of the committee reveals an even split between the NDC and NPP on the committee.

Mr. Osei-Owusu’s deputy will be the Deputy NPP Caucus Leader, Alexander Afenyo-Markin, if the list is approved.

The NDC Caucus Leader, Haruna Iddrisu, will serve as a ranking member on the committee with Chief Whip, Muntaka Mubarak, serving as his deputy.

The selections committee in its report recommended that the Standing Orders of Parliament be reviewed in earnest “in view of the fact that the revision would have numerical consequences on the composition of the various committees of the House.”

But because of the need to facilitate the business in the House and that of Government, the Committee proposed the membership of the Business Committee and Appointments Committee.

It wants the two Committees to work in the interim pending the passage of the reviewed Standing Orders that take into account the ratio of 138:137.

The Bussiness committee will have 10 members a piece for the NDC and NPP.

It will be chaired by the NPP Caucus Leader, Osei Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu with his vice-chair being Mr. Afenyo-Markin.

The Ranking members will be Mr. Iddrisu and Deputized by Mr James Avedzi.

Proposed Appointments Committee members

First Deputy Speaker (Joe Osei-Owusu)
Alexander Afenyo-Markin
John Ntim Fordjour
Frank Annoh-Dompreh
Patrick Yaw Boamah
Dr. Mathew O. Prempeh
Henry Quartey
Bryan Acheampong
Ursula G. Owusu-Ekuful
Patricia Appiagyei
Osei Bonsu Amoah
Alhassan Tampoli Sulemana
John Ampoyuah Kumah
Haruna Iddrisu
M. Mubarak-Muntaka
Manama Ayariga
Sampson Ahi Member
Eric Opoku
Elizabeth Ofosu-Agyare
James Agalga
Edwin N. L. Vanderpuye
Samuel Okudzeto Ablakwa
Alhassan Suhuyini
Francis Xavier Kojo Sosu
Zuwera Mohammed Ibrahim
Gizella Tetteh-Agbotui

Proposed Business Committee members

Osei Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu
Alexender Kwamena Afenyo-Markin
Frank Annoh-Dompreh
Lydia Seyram Alhassan
Moses Anim
Mavis Hawa Koomson
Alex Tetteh Domobuah
Joseph Cudjoe
Mavis Nkansah Boadu
Habib Iddrissu Member
Haruna Iddrisu
James Klutse Avedzi
M. Mubarak-Muntaka
Ahmed Ibrahim
Dela Sowah
Abdul-Rashid H. Pelpuo
Joycelin Tetteh
Eric Afful
Dr. Zenator Rawlings
Adama Ramadan

The two major polical parties, NDC and the NPP, has 137 representations each and one independent representative.

You may also like

Adblock Detected

Please support us by disabling your AdBlocker extension from your browsers for our website.